Skip to main content
Colorado General AssemblyToggle Main Menu
Agency NameToggle Agency Menu

County Treasurers To Serve As Public Trustees

Concerning a requirement that the county treasurer in specified counties serve as the public trustee for the county.
2019 Regular Session
Local Government
Bill Summary

Public trustees for Class 2 counties (Adams, Arapahoe, Boulder, Douglas, El Paso, Jefferson, Larimer, Mesa, Pueblo, and Weld) are currently appointed by the governor. Commencing July 1, 2020, the bill specifies that the county treasurer for each Class 2 county will serve as the public trustee for the county. The county treasurer is required to create a transition plan for assuming the new duties of the public trustee. The county treasurer is authorized to consider incorporating staff of the appointed trustee's office into the treasurer's office.

(Note: This summary applies to the reengrossed version of this bill as introduced in the second house.)


Became Law


Bill Text