Skip to main content
Colorado General AssemblyToggle Main Menu
Agency NameToggle Agency Menu

House Executive Leadership

The Executive Leadership of the House includes the Speaker, Majority Leader, and Minority Leader. They are also ex officio members of the Executive Committee of the Legislative Council along with the Executive Leadership of the Colorado Senate. The Speaker is elected by a majority vote of the House, while the Majority Leader and Minority Leader are chosen by their respective caucuses.

Speaker of the House

The Speaker of the Colorado House of Representatives is designated by the majority party, then elected for two year terms by all sixty-five members of the General Assembly. The Speaker calls the House to order each day, presides over the legislative sessions, and implements the rules and protocols of the House.

Daneya Esgar - Majority Leader
Majority Leader Esgar represents House District 46.
Hugh McKean - Minority Leader
Minority Leader McKean represents House District 51.