Skip to main content
Colorado General AssemblyToggle Main Menu
Agency NameToggle Agency Menu

Department of Transportation (CDOT)

The Department of Transportation is responsible for maintaining, repairing, and plowing Colorado's state highway system, which includes interstates, U.S. highways, toll roads, and numbered state highways in Colorado, under the policy direction of the 11‑member Transportation Commission.  

Regional transportation plans.  The state’s transportation planning process begins at the regional level.  CDOT gathers input from the 15 planning regions to develop regional transportation plans for each region.  The plans typically establish a region’s long-term transportation investment priorities, and are incorporated in the Statewide Transportation Plan

Statewide Transportation Plan.  State law requires CDOT to produce a 20-year plan, updated every five years.  The current Statewide Transportation Plan (2045) estimates needs and revenue from 2020 to 2045.  The plan outlines CDOT's overall funding plan, identifies the future needs of Colorado’s transportation system, establishes CDOT's vision and goals for the state, and outlines strategies to achieve these goals. 

Statewide Transportation Improvement Program.  Federal regulations require CDOT to develop a Statewide Transportation Improvement Program (STIP), which is a four‑year planning document for state transportation projects.  CDOT updates this plan annually.  Projects included in the annual plan come from the 20-year statewide transportation plan. 

CDOT resources.  CDOT maintains information about road and weather conditions at or by calling 511.  Construction reports can also be accessed through CDOT's Travel Center.  For information about CDOT's safety initiatives, visit the CDOT Safety page.  This resource guide also includes more information about High Occupancy Vehicle and Toll lanes; visit CDOT's website for general information about Express Lanes.

The effective date for bills enacted without a safety clause is August 7, 2024, if the General Assembly adjourns sine die on May 8, 2024, unless otherwise specified. Details