Skip to main content
Colorado General AssemblyToggle Main Menu
Agency NameToggle Agency Menu

DA939F48735E974C872584D5006301A0 Hearing Summary


Date Dec 19, 2019      
Location SCR 357

Office of the State Architect - Committee Discussion Only

11:01:28 AM  

Ms. Cheri Gerou, State Architect; Ms. Tana Lane, Manager of State Buildings Program; Mr. Eric Scholz, Manager of Statewide Planning Program; Mr. Rod Vanderwall, Manager of Energy Management Program; and Mr. Brandon Ates, Manager of Real Estate Program, all of the Office of the State Architect, appeared before the committee to present the office's annual report, and to discuss the capital process as overseen by the office. The FY 2020-21 annual report may be accessed at:  Ms. Lane briefed the committee on the State Buildings Program.

11:15:52 AM  
Mr. Sholz discussed the role of the OSA Statewide Planning Program. Mr. Vanderwall discussed the role of the Energy Management Program. Mr. Vanderwall responded to questions regarding the applicability of the Energy Management Program to certain infrastructure projects, and the source of funding for projects with energy performance contracts. Mr. Vanderwall responded to further questions regarding long-term planning for building energy use. Discussion ensued regarding a gubernatorial executive order pertaining to energy efficiency, including the use of electric vehicles.
11:38:12 AM  
Discussion continued regarding the use of electrical vehicles, and state build-out of electrical vehicle charging infrastructure. Mr. Ates briefed the committee on OSA's Real Estate Program. Ms. Gerou noted capital construction spending in recent years, and discussed the mounting costs of capital in Colorado. Ms. Gerou then discussed the gross square footage of the state's building inventory, and the overall condition of this inventory. Discussion ensued regarding six-month encumbrance waivers, and House Bill 19-1319. The chair and staff provided closing remarks on the hearings.

Colorado legislature email addresses ending in are no longer active. Please replace with for Colorado legislature email addresses.  Details