Skip to main content
Colorado General AssemblyToggle Main Menu
Agency NameToggle Agency Menu

6D8A3659990972FB8725851F00710C33 Hearing Summary


Date Mar 2, 2020      
Location HCR 0107

HB20-1126 - Postponed Indefinitely

01:34:49 PM  
Representatives Buck and Saine, co-prime
sponsors, presented House Bill 20-1126, Local Control Approvals Oil &
Gas Applications, to the committee and provided a packet of handouts (Attachment
A).  The bill removes the authority of the Deparment of Natural Resources
(DNR) to delay a drilling permit for oil and gas development issued by
a local government.
01:37:14 PM  
Scott James, Weld County Commissioner,
testified against the bill.  Mike Freeman, Weld County Commissioner,
testified against the bill.
01:41:01 PM  
The witness panel responded to questions
from the committee.
01:43:28 PM  
Andrew Forkes-Gudmundson, representing
the League of Oil & Gas Impacted Coloradans, testified against the
bill.  Jenna Parker, reprenting the 350 Fracking Committee, testified
against the bill.  
01:50:30 PM  
Daphne Gervais, representing Colorado Counties
Inc., testified against the bill.  Ramesh Bhatt, representing the
Colorado Sierra Club, testified against the bill.
01:54:51 PM  
Jan Rose, representing herself, testified
against the bill and provided two handouts (Attachments B & C).  Beau
Kikless, representing Conservation Colorado, testified against the bill.
02:03:08 PM  
Sam Bradley, representing the Small Operators
Society, testified in support of the bill.  Logan MacMillan, representing
the Colorado Alliance of Mineral and Royalty Owners, testified in support
of the bill.  
02:10:45 PM  
The witness panel responded to questions
from the committee.
02:15:24 PM  
Carrie Hackenberger, representing API,
testified in support of the bill if amended.  Garin Vorthman, representing
the Colorado Oil and Gas Association, testified in support of the bill
if amended.
02:20:52 PM  
Alice Cosgrove, representing DNR, testified
against the bill.
02:22:41 PM  
Ms. Cosgrove responded to questions from the committee.
02:25:57 PM  
Representatives Buck and Saine distributed
and discussed Amendment L.003 (Attachment D).

02:26:50 PM
Motion Adopt amendment L.003 (Attachment D).
Moved Saine
Seconded Buck
Valdez A.
Jackson Excused
YES: 0   NO: 0   EXC: 1   ABS:  0   FINAL ACTION:  Pass Without Objection
02:27:01 PM  
Representatives Buck, Saine, and committee
members made concluding comments.

02:35:29 PM
Motion Refer House Bill 20-1126, as amended, to the Committee of the Whole.
Moved Buck
Seconded Humphrey
Buck Yes
Froelich No
Geitner Yes
Humphrey Yes
Kipp No
Saine Yes
Sirota No
Valdez A. No
Weissman No
Jackson Excused
Hooton No
YES: 4   NO: 6   EXC: 1   ABS:  0   FINAL ACTION:  FAIL

02:35:53 PM
Motion Postpone House Bill 20-1126 indefinitely using a reversal of the previous roll call. There was no objection to the use of the reverse roll call, therefore, the bill was postponed indefinitely.
Moved Weissman
Seconded Sirota
Buck No
Froelich Yes
Geitner No
Humphrey No
Kipp Yes
Saine No
Sirota Yes
Valdez A. Yes
Weissman Yes
Jackson Excused
Hooton Yes
Final YES: 6   NO: 4   EXC: 1   ABS:  0   FINAL ACTION:  PASS

The effective date for bills enacted without a safety clause is August 7, 2024, if the General Assembly adjourns sine die on May 8, 2024, unless otherwise specified. Details