Skip to main content
Colorado General AssemblyToggle Main Menu
Agency NameToggle Agency Menu

Behavioral Health Crisis Transition Referral Program

Concerning establishing a statewide program to coordinate referrals of high-risk individuals in need of behavioral health transition services, and, in connection therewith, making an appropriation.
2018 Regular Session
Human Services
Bill Summary

Office of behavioral health - community transition specialist program - referral coordination of high-risk individuals - rules - data collection - SMART act report - appropriation. The act establishes the community transition specialist program (program) in the office of behavioral health (office) in the department of human services (department). The program coordinates referrals of high-risk individuals from certain behavioral health facilities and programs to transition specialists. High-risk individuals are under an emergency or involuntary hold, have a significant mental health or substance use disorder, and are not in consistent behavioral health treatment. Transition specialists provide services related to housing, program placement, access to behavioral health treatment or benefits, advocacy, and other supportive services. The department is required to adopt rules by October 1, 2018, to implement the program. The office is required to collect data and make recommendations to the department, and the department is required to include program information in the department's annual SMART act report.

$1,588,250 is appropriated from the general fund to the department of human services for use by the office of behavioral health to implement the community transition specialist program.

(Note: This summary applies to this bill as enacted.)


Became Law


Bill Text

Colorado legislature email addresses ending in are no longer active. Please replace with for Colorado legislature email addresses. Details

The effective date for bills enacted without a safety clause is August 7, 2024, if the General Assembly adjourns sine die on May 8, 2024, unless otherwise specified. Details