Skip to main content
Colorado General AssemblyToggle Main Menu
Agency NameToggle Agency Menu

College Credit For Military Education And Training

Concerning a statewide policy for awarding college credit for military education and training.
2017 Regular Session
Higher Education
Military & Veterans
Bill Summary

The bill requires the governing board of each institution of higher education to adopt, make public, and implement a prior learning assessment policy for awarding academic credit for college-level learning acquired while in the military. The policy adopted by the governing board must require each campus to use the American Council on Education's recommendations on the joint services transcript and, at its discretion, assign appropriate credit. Further, the institutions shall provide specific guidance to active duty and veteran military members in selecting a program of study and optimizing prior learning assessment credit. Finally, the institutions shall accept in transfer from other state institutions prior learning assessment credit awarded for courses with guaranteed-transfer designation.

During the 2018 legislative session, the department of higher education shall report to certain committees of the general assembly concerning the policies adopted by the institutions.

(Note: This summary applies to the reengrossed version of this bill as introduced in the second house.)


Became Law


Bill Text


Sponsor Type Legislators
Prime Sponsor

Rep. J. Danielson, Rep. D. Michaelson Jenet
Sen. L. Garcia, Sen. O. Hill



Rep. J. Arndt, Rep. J. Becker, Rep. K. Becker, Rep. S. Beckman, Rep. A. Benavidez, Rep. J. Bridges, Rep. P. Buck, Rep. J. Buckner, Rep. T. Carver, Rep. M. Catlin, Rep. J. Coleman, Rep. P. Covarrubias, Rep. C. Duran, Rep. D. Esgar, Rep. J. Everett, Rep. T. Exum, Rep. M. Foote, Rep. A. Garnett, Rep. J. Ginal, Rep. M. Gray, Rep. M. Hamner, Rep. C. Hansen, Rep. L. Herod, Rep. E. Hooton, Rep. S. Humphrey, Rep. D. Jackson, Rep. C. Kennedy, Rep. T. Kraft-Tharp, Rep. L. Landgraf, Rep. P. Lawrence, Rep. S. Lebsock, Rep. P. Lee, Rep. T. Leonard, Rep. K. Lewis, Rep. L. Liston, Rep. S. Lontine, Rep. P. Lundeen, Rep. H. McKean, Rep. B. McLachlan, Rep. J. Melton, Rep. P. Neville, Rep. D. Nordberg, Rep. D. Pabon, Rep. B. Pettersen, Rep. B. Rankin, Rep. K. Ransom, Rep. P. Rosenthal, Rep. L. Saine, Rep. J. Salazar, Rep. L. Sias, Rep. J. Singer, Rep. D. Thurlow, Rep. D. Valdez, Rep. K. Van Winkle, Rep. M. Weissman, Rep. Y. Willett, Rep. D. Williams, Rep. J. Wilson, Rep. F. Winter, Rep. C. Wist, Rep. D. Young
Sen. I. Aguilar, Sen. R. Baumgardner, Sen. J. Cooke, Sen. D. Coram, Sen. L. Court, Sen. L. Crowder, Sen. K. Donovan, Sen. S. Fenberg, Sen. R. Fields, Sen. B. Gardner, Sen. K. Grantham, Sen. C. Holbert, Sen. C. Jahn, Sen. M. Jones, Sen. D. Kagan, Sen. J. Kefalas, Sen. A. Kerr, Sen. K. Lambert, Sen. K. Lundberg, Sen. V. Marble, Sen. B. Martinez Humenik, Sen. M. Merrifield, Sen. D. Moreno, Sen. T. Neville, Sen. K. Priola, Sen. R. Scott, Sen. J. Smallwood, Sen. J. Sonnenberg, Sen. J. Tate, Sen. N. Todd, Sen. A. Williams, Sen. R. Zenzinger

The effective date for bills enacted without a safety clause is August 7, 2024, if the General Assembly adjourns sine die on May 8, 2024, unless otherwise specified. Details