Skip to main content
Colorado General AssemblyToggle Main Menu
Agency NameToggle Agency Menu

Disproportionately Impact Community Air Pollution

Concerning measures to be taken by the air quality control commission to reduce air pollution in the state.
2024 Regular Session
Natural Resources & Environment
Bill Summary

Under current law, the air quality control commission (commission) consists of 9 members. As of October 1, 2024, section 2 of the bill increases the membership of the commission to 11 members to include:

  • One member who represents a disproportionately impacted community and the interests of communities of color and who does not derive income from an entity that the commission regulates; and
  • One climate scientist employed by an organization that does not derive income from an entity that the commission regulates.

Under current law, the commission is required to adopt rules regulating greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions from the industrial and manufacturing sector (sector). Section 3 requires the commission to adopt rules, to be implemented by January 1, 2025, that:

  • Prohibit GHG emissions from the sector from increasing in the near term and require sector-wide emissions not to exceed 97 million metric tons of total carbon dioxide equivalent cumulatively between 2025 and 2030;
  • Prohibit a sector source from complying with GHG emissions compliance obligations by making a payment unless the payment is made in exchange for GHG credit that is surrendered as part of a GHG credit trading program; and
  • Establish source-specific GHG emission reduction requirements that must be met through direct reductions of GHG emissions for a sector source that adversely affects a disproportionately impacted community.

Section 3 also clarifies the definition of "GHG credit", as applied to the requirement for commission rule-making, to include an allowance to emit one metric ton of carbon dioxide equivalent of GHG by a regulated source.
(Note: This summary applies to this bill as introduced.)




Bill Text


Sponsor Type Legislators
Prime Sponsor

Rep. M. Rutinel, Rep. M. Weissman
Sen. F. Winter


Rep. C. Kipp, Rep. J. Willford


The effective date for bills enacted without a safety clause is August 7, 2024, if the General Assembly adjourns sine die on May 8, 2024, unless otherwise specified. Details