COLORADO GENERAL ASSEMBLY

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

Rep. Julie McCluskie, Chair Sen. Stephen Fenberg, Vice-chair

Rep. Monica Duran Sen. Robert Rodriguez Rep. Rose Pugliese Sen. Paul Lundeen



STAFF Natalie Castle, Director

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF THE LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

ROOM 029 STATE CAPITOL DENVER, COLORADO 80203-1784

E-mail: lcs.ga@coleg.gov 303-866-3521 FAX: 303-866-3855

March 15, 2024

Members of the Seventy-fourth General Assembly:

Pursuant to Section 2-3-303.3, C.R.S., a member seeking an interim committee must make a request in writing to the Legislative Council by 5:00 pm on Friday, April 12, 2024. All requests must be finalized by this date and no exceptions can be granted on this request deadline.

Please see either the Office of Legislative Legal Services or the Office of Legislative Council Staff to request assistance in completing a request for an interim committee. Members are asked to submit their requests as far in advance of the deadline as possible. To provide legislative staff adequate time to assist you in preparing the written request, please contact either office on or before Friday, April 5, 2024.

The most successful interim committees are those that are focused on narrower issues, as it allows the committee to use the relatively short window it will be meeting in the interim to learn about the topic and draft meaningful legislation. The request, as stipulated in statute, must specify at a minimum:

- the scope of the policy issues to be studied;
- the number of meetings necessary to study the issues;
- the suggested number and composition of committee members, including the appointments to be made by the President, Speaker, Majority Leaders, and Minority Leaders;
- whether nonlegislative members should have a role in the interim committee;

Members of the Seventy-fourth General Assembly March 15, 2024 Page 2

- whether a task force is necessary to assist the interim committee in studying the scope of issues and, if so, the members and composition of a task force;
- whether travel outside of the Denver metropolitan area is necessary; and
- an estimate of the maximum number of bills the interim committee will need to address the issues studied.

Pursuant to Joint Rule 24A(d)(1)(A), the chair and vice-chair shall be appointed by the Speaker and the President, depending on the house in which the request for the interim committee originates.

Once finalized, all written requests for interim committees will be made public and will be posted on the <u>Legislative Council Committee website</u> and distributed to the members of Legislative Council. The Legislative Council will meet by Friday, April 26, 2024, to review and prioritize any interim committee requests that have been submitted.

The Legislative Council Staff director will determine the number of interim committee meetings that may be funded from the legislative budget so that the Legislative Council can determine how many interim committees it may prioritize. The proposed legislative budget for FY 2024-25 provides funding for two interim committees, with a total of eight meetings to be divided between the two. Legislative members of interim committees approved through this process will receive per diem and travel reimbursement. Interim committees approved through this process will receive staff support from the Legislative Council Staff and the Office of Legislative Legal Services.

This process is intended for one-time committees meeting during one interim period. Members wanting to create long-term, statutory committees must introduce separate legislation. Such legislation will be accompanied by a fiscal note reflecting the cost of legislator member per diem and travel, as well as the cost of staff assistance.

For more information, please see Section 2-3-303.3, Colorado Revised Statutes C.R.S., and the form developed by Legislative Council Staff and the Office of Legislative Legal Services. Please feel free to contact either the Office of Legislative Legal Services or the office of Legislative Council Staff for any help you may need. Requests may be turned into either office.

Speaker Julie McCluskie, Chair	President Stephen Fenberg, Vice-chair

Majority Leader Monica Duran	Majority Leader Robert Rodriguez
Minority Leader Rose Pugliese	Minority Leader Paul Lundeen

