COLORADO GENERAL ASSEMBLY

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE Sen. Stephen Fenberg, Chair Rep. Julie McCluskie, Vice-Chair

Rep. Monica Duran Sen. Paul Lundeen Rep. Mike Lynch Sen. Dominick Moreno

STAFF Natalie Castle, Director Elizabeth Burger, Deputy Director Manish Jani, Deputy Director



COMMITTEE Rep. Judy Amabile Rep. Ryan Armagost Sen. James Coleman Rep. Chris deGruy Kennedy Sen. Bob Gardner Sen. Chris Hansen

Rep. Anthony Hartsook Rep. Iman Jodeh Rep. Meghan Lukens Sen. Cleave Simpson Sen. Jim Smallwood Sen. Faith Winter

LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

ROOM 029 STATE CAPITOL DENVER, COLORADO 80203-1784

E-mail: <u>lcs.ga@coleg.gov</u> 303-866-3521 FAX: 303-866-3855

This letter reflects the authorization for the committee as approved by Legislative Council at its meeting on April 26, 2023.

Requested by: Senator Rodriguez
With support of: Senator(s) Gonzales

Re: Request for interim study committee regarding aligning definitions of recidivism when

used as a measurement of criminal justice related program success or failure

Date: 4/26/2023

Information Required Pursuant to Section 2-3-303.3, C.R.S.

I hereby request that an interim study committee be formed to study aligning definitions of recidivism when used as a measurement of criminal justice related program success or failure during the interim between the 2023 and 2024 legislative sessions. The interim study committee would be named the "Recidivism Interim Study Committee".

The policy issues to be studied are:

- reviewing agency and department definitions of recidivism;
- examining other state and academic approaches to defining recidivism;
- · reviewing other means to measure program success; and
- aligning agency and department recidivism definitions to more clearly measure program effectiveness.

The interim study committee would need to meet 3 times to study the issues.

The interim study committee should consist of 6 members of the General Assembly selected as follows:

- 3 members of the Senate, with 1 appointed by the President of the Senate; 1 appointed by the Majority Leader of the Senate, and 1 appointed by the Minority Leader of the Senate.
- 3 members of the House of Representatives, with 1 appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives; 1 appointed by the Majority Leader of the House of Representatives, and 1 appointed by the Minority Leader of the House of Representatives.

Nonlegislative members will have a role in the interim study committee. The nonlegislative members will be assigned to examine the differences in recidivism definitions and engage with departments that use recidivism as a measurement of program effectiveness. The nonlegislative members will also ensure that related policies be developed and vetted by a diverse group of stakeholders. Additionally, the nonlegislative members will collect information and data, and make suggestions for potential legislation.

Nine nonlegislative members are requested, representing the Judicial Branch, Department of Public Safety, Department of Corrections, State Board of Parole, Department of Human Services, Colorado District Attorneys Council, defense attorneys, an organization representing crime victims, and an organization advocating for criminal justice reform. The referenced agencies and organizations will designate an individual to serve as a nonlegislative member.

A task force is not necessary to assist the interim study committee in studying the scope of policy issues described above.

The interim study committee will need up to 3 bills to address the issues it studies.

Thank you for your consideration of this request.