COLORADO GENERAL ASSEMBLY

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

Sen. Leroy Garcia, Chair Rep. KC Becker, Vice Chair Sen. Stephen Fenberg Rep. Alec Garnett Sen. Chris Holbert Rep. Patrick Neville

STAFF

Natalie Mullis, Director Elizabeth Burger, Deputy Director Manish Jani, Deputy Director



COMMITTEE

Sen. John Cooke Sen. Lois Court Rep. Monica Duran Rep. Dominique Jackson Rep. Susan Lontine Sen. Vicki Marble Sen. Dominick Moreno Rep. Kyle Mullica Rep. Lori Saine Sen Ray Scott

Sen. Ray Scott Sen. Angela Williams Rep. Kevin Van Winkle

LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

ROOM 029 STATE CAPITOL DENVER, COLORADO 80203-1784

E-mail: <u>lcs.ga@state.co.us</u> 303-866-3521 FAX: 303-866-3855

This letter reflects the authorization for the committee as approved by Legislative Council at its meeting on April 25, 2019.

To: Legislative Council

Requested by: Representative Hansen

With support of: Representative Jackson; also Senators Foote and Winter

Re: Request for interim study committee regarding energy legislation

Date: 4/25/2019

Information Required Pursuant to Section 2-3-303.3, C.R.S.

I hereby request that an interim study committee be formed to study energy policy and legislation during the interim between the 2019 and 2020 legislative sessions. The interim study committee would be named the "Energy Legislation Review Interim Study Committee."

The policy issues to be studied are:

- electric grid interconnection;
- electric vehicle market adoption factors;
- energy supply and transmission planning;
- grid security;
- distributed generation options;
- energy market transitions;
- clean energy job creation and the impact to jobs as a result of changing energy markets;
- climate change policy options;
- demand-side management; and
- energy storage policy.

The interim study committee would need to meet 4 times to study the issues.

The interim study committee should consist of 10 members of the General Assembly selected as follows:

- 5 members of the Senate, with 3 appointed by the President of the Senate and 2 appointed by the minority leader of the Senate.
- 5 members of the House of Representatives, with 3 appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives and 2 appointed by the minority leader of the House of Representatives.

The chair shall be a House member appointed by the Speaker of the House and the vice-chair shall be a Senate member appointed by the Senate President.

The appointments must be made by June 1, 2019.

Nonlegislative members will not have a role in the interim study committee.

A task force is not necessary to assist the interim study committee in studying the scope of policy issues described above.

The interim study committee will need 3 bills to address the issues it studies.

Additional Information Related to the Interim Study Committee Request

The Colorado Energy Office, Department of Local Affairs, Attorney General's Office, and the Department of Natural Resources, as well as experts in the fields of energy resources, conservation, quality, reliability, use, finance, or development, may be called upon to provide assistance or information to the interim study committee.

The interim study committee would like to conduct 2 meetings outside of the Denver metropolitan area to take field trips to better understand energy development, grid security, energy supply and transmission planning, and other issues that affect energy policy in Colorado.

Thank you for your consideration of this request.