

## SENATE RESOLUTION 20-004

BY SENATOR(S) Todd and Gardner, Bridges, Cooke, Coram, Crowder, Danielson, Donovan, Fenberg, Fields, Foote, Ginal, Gonzales, Hansen, Hill, Hisey, Holbert, Lee, Lundeen, Marble, Moreno, Pettersen, Priola, Rankin, Rodriguez, Smallwood, Sonnenberg, Story, Tate, Williams A., Winter, Woodward, Zenzinger, Garcia.

CONCERNING THE DESIGNATION OF MARCH 10, 2020, AS "COLORADO AEROSPACE DAY"

WHEREAS, Our nation and the world have significantly benefitted from technological and scientific advances resulting from space exploration and aerospace activities; and

WHEREAS, Colorado is the number one state per capita in the country for private aerospace employment; and

WHEREAS, There are 30,020 Coloradans who are directly employed in aerospace, with the aerospace cluster supporting nearly 200,000 jobs; and

WHEREAS, Colorado is home to the nation's top aerospace companies, including Ball Aerospace, Boeing, L3Harris, Lockheed Martin Space, Maxar Technologies, Northrop Grumman, Raytheon, Sierra Nevada Corporation, Teledyne Brown Engineering, and United Launch Alliance, and close to 500 additional companies that support the aerospace sector by providing services and developing products, including spacecraft, launch vehicles, satellites, command and control software, sensors, and navigation operations; and

WHEREAS, Colorado is a strategic location for national space and cyber activity, with five key military commands--North American

Aerospace Defense Command (NORAD), the United States Northern Command (USNORTHCOM), the United States Strategic Command's Joint Functional Component Command for Space (JFCC Space) Missile Warning Center, the United States Space Command, and the United States Army Space and Missile Defense Command/Army Forces Strategic Command--and three space-related United States Air Force bases--Buckley, Peterson, and Schriever; and

WHEREAS, The United States Air Force Academy, along with Colorado's colleges and universities, including the University of Colorado Boulder, University of Colorado Colorado Springs, Colorado School of Mines, Colorado State University, Metropolitan State University of Denver, University of Denver, Colorado Mesa University, and Fort Lewis College provides access to world-class aerospace-related degrees and offers aerospace companies one of the country's most educated workforces; and

WHEREAS, Various organizations are key to Colorado's prominence in aerospace, such as the Colorado Space Coalition, a group of industry stakeholders working to grow and promote Colorado as a center of excellence for aerospace, and the Colorado Space Business Roundtable, an organization that works to convene stakeholders from industry, government, and academia to advance aerospace business and workforce opportunities throughout the state, that together form the Colorado chapter of the Aerospace States Association, a nonpartisan organization of Lieutenant Governors and associate members from aerospace organizations and academia who represent states' interests in federal aerospace and aviation policy development; the Colorado chapter of Citizens for Space Exploration, in partnership with the Colorado Space Business Roundtable, whose mission is to promote better understanding of aerospace and its importance in our economy and daily lives as well as promoting the importance of human space exploration; Manufacturer's Edge, a statewide manufacturing assistance center that encourages the strength and competitiveness of Colorado manufacturers by providing on-site technical assistance through coaching, training, and consulting and collaboration-focused industry programs and leveraging government, university, and economic development partnerships; and

WHEREAS, The Colorado Air and Space Port seeks to serve as America's hub for commercial space transportation, research, and development and this horizontal launch facility will have the potential to become the foundation for a global suborbital transportation network connecting Colorado globally; now, therefore,

Be It Resolved by the Senate of the Seventy-second General Assembly of the State of Colorado:

That we, the members of the Colorado Senate:

- (1) Strongly urge and request the government of the United States of America to take action to preserve and enhance United States leadership in space, spur innovation, and ensure our continued national and economic security by increasing funding for space exploration and activities, including regaining the ability of the United States to deliver astronauts to low Earth orbit in the next few years and to commit to and aggressively pursue sending the first woman and United States astronauts to the Moon by 2024 under the Artemis program with a goal of sending a crewed mission to orbit Mars by 2033 using the Orion spacecraft and the Space Launch System to get there;
- (2) Recognize and appreciate Colorado's space and aerospace companies and organizations, especially the growing membership and activities of the Colorado chapter of Citizens for Space Exploration, in partnership with the Colorado Space Business Roundtable, whose activities to promote space exploration are helping to increase public understanding and enthusiasm for exploration funding;
- (3) Recognize and support our Congressional Delegation in urging the Department of Defense to reestablish the United States Space Command in Colorado;
- (4) Recognize and appreciate the contributions of Colorado's universities, colleges, and national research laboratories to the space and aerospace industries, including their expertise in exploration of the planets and the universe and space-based Earth observation;
- (5) Express our most sincere and deepest appreciation to the men and women working in our military installations in Colorado; and
  - (6) Hereby declare March 10, 2020, to be "Colorado Aerospace Day".

Be It Further Resolved, That copies of this Resolution be sent to President Donald Trump; Vice President Mike Pence; Speaker of the House of Representatives Nancy Pelosi; House Minority Leader Kevin McCarthy; Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell; Senate Minority Leader Charles Schumer; Senator Cory Gardner; Senator Michael Bennet; Congresswoman Diana DeGette; Congressman Joe Neguse; Congressman Scott Tipton; Congressman Ken Buck; Congressman Doug Lamborn; Congressman Jason Crow; Congressman Ed Perlmutter; Jim Bridenstine, NASA Administrator; Daniel K. Elwell, Deputy Administrator, Federal Aviation Administration; Governor Jared Polis; Lieutenant Governor and Co-chair, Colorado Space Coalition, Dianne Primavera; Major General Michael A. Loh, The Adjutant General, Colorado National Guard; General John Raymond, Commander, U.S. Space Command, and Commander, Air Force Space Command; Colonel Devin Pepper, USAF, Commander of the 460th Space Wing, Buckley Air Force Base, Colorado; Dr. Christopher Scales, Director, National Reconnaissance Office; Ross B. Garelick Bell, Executive Director, Aerospace States Association; Thomas E. Zelibor, Chief Executive Officer, Space Foundation; Dr. Ronald M. Sega, Co-chair, Colorado Space Coalition; Michael Gass, Co-chair, Colorado Space Coalition; Alires Almon, Chair, Colorado Space Business Roundtable; Stacey DeFore, Chair, Colorado Citizens for Space Exploration; Dave Ruppel, Director, Colorado Air and Space Port; and Debbie Brown, President, Colorado Space Business Roundtable.

Leroy M. Garcia
PRESIDENT OF
THE SENATE

Cindi L. Markwell SECRETARY OF THE SENATE