STEVE FENBERG President

State Senator 200 E. Colfax Avenue Denver, Colorado 80203 Capitol: (303) 866-4872



COMMITTEES

Vice Chair, Executive Committee of the Legislative Council Vice Chair, Legislative Council

President of the Senate

TO: Members of the Senate

FROM: President Stephen Fenberg

DATE: January 11, 2024

RE: 2024 Session, Senate Committee Routing for Bills with a Fiscal Impact

- 1. All bills must be referred to the committee(s) assigned by the President, even when a bill is amended to eliminate an expenditure or revenue change.
- 2. Bills that create any statutory committees with legislative members must be routed to the Legislative Council in the second house. In addition, bills that allocate any additional legislative staff resources must be routed to the Legislative Council in the second house.
- 3. The following bills, with an impact in any fiscal year, must be referred to the committees on Appropriations and/or Finance. All other bills can be referred directly to the Committee of the Whole, or to any other committee at the committee's discretion, with the exception of the bills identified in #2 above that must go to Legislative Council. All bills with continuous appropriation clauses, in any fiscal year, must be referred to the Appropriations Committee.

State Fiscal Impact	Type of Impact	Committee
State Revenue General Fund	Increase > \$20,000	Finance
	Decrease > \$20,000	Finance and Appropriations
Cash Funds	Increase > \$20,000	Finance and Appropriations
State Expenditures General Fund	Increase or Decrease	Appropriations
Cash Funds	Increase or Decrease	Appropriations
Diversions or Transfer from General Fund		Appropriations

Bills that transfer money between cash funds do not need to be referred to the Committee on Appropriations unless there is an expenditure of either General Fund or cash fund money.

Bills with only a local government impact may be referred directly to the Committee of the Whole.

When a bill's state fiscal impact is eliminated by amendment, and a memo to that effect is prepared by the fiscal note staff, the bill may be referred to the Committee of the Whole or to any committee at the committee's discretion.

Kerri L. Hunter, CPA, CFE, State Auditor
 Robin Jones, Chief Clerk – Colorado House of Representatives
 Cindi Markwell, Secretary – Colorado Senate
 Ed DeCecco, Director – Office of Legislative Legal Services
 Natalie Castle, Director – Legislative Council Staff
 Craig Harper, Director – Joint Budget Committee Staff