

SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 16-035

BY SENATOR(S) Lambert and Merrifield, Aguilar, Baumgardner, Carroll, Cooke, Crowder, Donovan, Garcia, Grantham, Guzman, Heath, Hill, Hodge, Holbert, Jahn, Johnston, Jones, Kefalas, Kerr, Lundberg, Marble, Martinez Humenik, Neville T., Newell, Roberts, Scheffel, Scott, Sonnenberg, Steadman, Tate, Todd, Ulibarri, Woods, Cadman; also REPRESENTATIVE(S) Carver and Lee, Joshi, Klingenschmitt, Landgraf, Lundeen, Nordberg, Roupe, Arndt, Becker J., Becker K., Brown, Buck, Buckner, Conti, Coram, Court, Danielson, DelGrosso, Dore, Duran, Esgar, Everett, Fields, Foote, Garnett, Ginal, Hamner, Humphrey, Kagan, Kraft-Tharp, Lawrence, Lebsock, Leonard, Lontine, McCann, Melton, Mitsch Bush, Moreno, Navarro, Neville P., Pabon, Pettersen, Primavera, Priola, Rankin, Ransom, Rosenthal, Ryden, Saine, Salazar, Sias, Singer, Thurlow, Tyler, Van Winkle, Vigil, Willett, Williams, Wilson, Windholz, Winter, Wist, Young, Hullinghorst.

CONCERNING THE COMMEMORATION OF THE BUFFALO SOLDIERS AND THE DESIGNATION OF A PORTION OF UNITED STATES HIGHWAY 24 FROM MILE MARKER 308 TO MILE MARKER 298 AS THE "BUFFALO SOLDIERS MEMORIAL HIGHWAY".

WHEREAS, African-Americans have served with honor and distinction in every major American war; and

WHEREAS, Approximately 180,000 African-Americans served in the U.S. Army and another 18,000 served in the U.S. Navy during the Civil War from 1861-1865; and

WHEREAS, In 1866, federal legislation was adopted to create six African-American Army units, identified as the 9th and 10th Cavalry and the 38th, 39th, 40th, and 41st Infantry Regiments; and

WHEREAS, The four infantry units were reorganized in 1868 as the 24th and 25th Infantry Regiments; and

WHEREAS, The African-American troops could only serve West of the Mississippi River because of the prevailing attitudes following the Civil War, which led to their extensive involvement in the settling of the American West; and

WHEREAS, These troops were given the nickname of "Buffalo Soldiers" by Native Americans and were known for the same fierce bravery and fighting spirit of the respected animal; and

WHEREAS, The Buffalo Soldiers' main charge was to protect settlers as they moved West and to support the westward expansion by building forts, roads, and other infrastructure, and mapping the wilderness as the American West was being developed; and

WHEREAS, Buffalo Soldiers were stationed at Fort Lyon and Fort Garland, Colorado, where they assisted civil authorities in peace-keeping efforts and participated in many important military conflicts in Colorado's early history; and

WHEREAS, Buffalo Soldiers fought bandits, escorted stage coaches and paymasters, and delivered mail longer than the Pony Express; and

WHEREAS, Buffalo Soldiers were awarded 23 Medals of Honor and 40 Certificates of Merit for their valor, endurance, and courage, and the African-American units had the lowest desertion rate in the Army; and

WHEREAS, Due to the integral part Buffalo Soldiers have played in the history of Colorado and the United States, it is appropriate to honor their history and valor; and

WHEREAS, The year 2016 marks the 150th anniversary of the establishment of these African-American regiments; now, therefore,

Be It Resolved by the Senate of the Seventieth General Assembly of the State of Colorado, the House of Representatives concurring herein:

(1) That the portion of United States Highway 24 from Mile Marker

PAGE 2-SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 16-035

308 to Mile Marker 298, near Garden of the Gods, through the cities of Colorado Springs and Manitou Springs, Colorado, be renamed the "Buffalo Soldiers Memorial Highway";

- (2) That the Colorado Department of Transportation may accept and expend gifts, grants, and donations for the purposes of the initial placement of signs to mark the designated portion of United States Highway 24 as the "Buffalo Soldiers Memorial Highway"; and
- (3) That the Colorado Department of Transportation may explore a cooperative agreement with the Board of County Commissioners for El Paso county for the maintenance of the markings for the "Buffalo Soldiers Memorial Highway".

Be It Further Resolved, That copies of this Joint Resolution be sent to Governor John Hickenlooper; the Board of County Commissioners for El Paso county; the City Councils of Colorado Springs and Manitou Springs; the Colorado Springs Buffalo Soldiers Community Memorial Committee; the Buffalo Soldiers National Museum; the public affairs offices for Peterson Air Force Base, Fort Carson, the Mountain Post Historical Center,

and the United States Air Force Academy; the Executive Director of the Colorado Department of Transportation, the Colorado Transportation Commission, and each member of Colorado's congressional delegation.

Bill L. Cadman PRESIDENT OF

THE SENATE

Dickey Lee Hullinghorst

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

Effie Ameen **SECRETARY OF**

CHIEF CLERK OF THE HOUSE

THE SENATE

OF REPRESENTATIVES