CHAPTER 38

GOVERNMENT - COUNTY

HOUSE BILL 23-1139

BY REPRESENTATIVE(S) Martinez, Duran, English, Lukens, Mabrey, Marshall, Mauro, Ortiz, Pugliese, Ricks, Snyder, Taggart, Velasco, McCluskie, Bacon, Lindsay, Parenti; also SENATOR(S) Simpson, Pelton R.

AN ACT

CONCERNING THE MODIFICATION OF THE SALARY CATEGORIZATION OF LOCALLY ELECTED OFFICERS IN SPECIFIED COUNTIES.

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the State of Colorado:

SECTION 1. In Colorado Revised Statutes, 30-2-102, **amend** (1.5)(a)(I)(A), (1.5)(a)(II), (1.5)(a)(III), (1.5)(a)(IV)(A), (1.5)(a)(V)(A), and (1.5)(a)(V)(B) as follows:

30-2-102. Categorization of counties for fixing salaries of county officers - salary amounts - legislative declaration. (1.5) (a) For the purpose of establishing the salaries of county officers whose terms of office begin on or after January 1, 2016:

(I) (A) Category I-A counties consist of the counties of Adams, Arapahoe, Boulder, Douglas, EAGLE, El Paso, Jefferson, Larimer, Pueblo, ROUTT, SUMMIT, and Weld;

(II) (A) Category II-A counties consist of the counties of Eagle, Garfield, GRAND, AND La Plata; Routt, and Summit;

(B) CATEGORY II-B COUNTIES CONSIST OF THE COUNTY OF PITKIN;

(B) (C) Category II-C counties consist of the counties of Fremont and Pitkin COUNTY OF FREMONT.

(III) (A) Category III-A counties consist of the counties of Archuleta, Chaffee, Clear Creek, Delta, Gunnison, Moffat, MONTEZUMA, Montrose, Morgan, OURAY,

Capital letters or bold & italic numbers indicate new material added to existing law; dashes through words or numbers indicate deletions from existing law and such material is not part of the act.

Ch. 38

Park, Rio Blanco, San Miguel, and Teller;

(B) Category III-B counties consist of the counties of Alamosa, Archuleta, Delta, Gilpin, Grand, and Logan;

(C) Category III-C counties consist of the county COUNTIES of LAS ANIMAS AND Otero;

(D) Category III-D counties consist of the counties of Las Animas and Montezuma.

(IV) (A) Category IV-A counties consist of the counties of Custer, Elbert, Ouray, and Prowers;

(V) (A) Category V-A counties consist of the counties of Baca, Conejos, Costilla, Lincoln, Mineral, Phillips, SAGUACHE, and San Juan;

(B) Category V-B counties consist of the counties of Crowley AND Hinsdale; and Saguache;

SECTION 2. Act subject to petition - effective date. This act takes effect at 12:01 a.m. on the day following the expiration of the ninety-day period after final adjournment of the general assembly; except that, if a referendum petition is filed pursuant to section 1 (3) of article V of the state constitution against this act or an item, section, or part of this act within such period, then the act, item, section, or part will not take effect unless approved by the people at the general election to be held in November 2024 and, in such case, will take effect on the date of the official declaration of the vote thereon by the governor.

Approved: March 23, 2023