CHAPTER 4

GOVERNMENT - COUNTY

SENATE BILL 02-031

BY SENATOR(S) Entz; also REPRESENTATIVE(S) Spradley and Kester.

AN ACT

CONCERNING CATEGORIZATION OF CUSTER COUNTY FOR PURPOSES OF ESTABLISHING SALARIES OF COUNTY OFFICERS.

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the State of Colorado:

SECTION 1. 30-2-102 (1) (d) and (1) (e), Colorado Revised Statutes, are amended to read:

30-2-102. Categorization of counties for fixing salaries of county officers. (1) For the purpose of establishing the salaries of county officers:

(d) Category IV counties shall consist of the counties of Alamosa, CUSTER, Elbert, Gilpin, Huerfano, Kit Carson, Lake, Montezuma, Ouray, Prowers, Rio Grande, Washington, and Yuma;

(e) Category V counties shall consist of the counties of Baca, Bent, Cheyenne, Conejos, Costilla, Crowley, Custer, Dolores, Hinsdale, Jackson, Kiowa, Lincoln, Mineral, Phillips, Saguache, San Juan, and Sedgwick.

SECTION 2. Effective date. This act shall take effect at 12:01 a.m. on the day following the expiration of the ninety-day period after final adjournment of the general assembly that is allowed for submitting a referendum petition pursuant to article V, section 1 (3) of the state constitution; except that, if a referendum petition is filed against this act or an item, section, or part of this act within such period, then the act, item, section, or part, if approved by the people, shall take effect on the date of the official declaration of the vote thereon by proclamation of the governor.

Approved: March 5, 2002

Capital letters indicate new material added to existing statutes; dashes through words indicate deletions from existing statutes and such material not part of act.