DRAFT AGENDA SCHOOL SAFETY COMMITTEE

Old State Library State Capitol Building 200 E. Colfax Avenue Denver, CO 80203 Tuesday, August 20, 2019

9:00 a.m.	Call to Order	and Introducto	ry Remarks fro	m the Chair
J.UU a.III.	Call to Older	and minoducio	n v neiliaiks iic	iiii liile Giiaii

9:15 a.m. Review of Committee Questions from Previous Meeting and Schedule Overview

- Elizabeth Burger, Legislative Council Staff
- Aaron Carpenter, Legislative Council Staff
- Jessika Shipley, Legislative Council Staff

9:30 a.m. Creating Consistency in School Safety Across State Departments

- Julie Tolleson, First Assistant Attorney General, Department of Law
- Chris Harms, Director, School Safety Resource Center, Department of Public Safety
- Additional presenters to be announced

10:30 a.m. Implementing School Safety Protocols

Presenters to be announced

11:30 a.m. Violence Prevention and Mental Health

- Sarah Younggren, LCSW, Child and Adolescent Specialist at Mental Health Colorado
- Additional presenters to be announced

12:30 p.m. Lunch

1:30 p.m. Community Policy Conversations

- Sarah Davidon, Ed.D., Director of Research & Child and Adolescent Strategy at Mental Health Colorado
- Jake Cousins, Padres & Jovenes Unidos
- Michelle Murphy, Executive Director of the Colorado Rural Schools Alliance
- Denille LePlatt, Director of Rural Services at CDE
- Kathy Morris, K-12 Safety and Security Director, Durango School District 9-R
- Amie Baca Oehlert, Colorado Education Association
- John Ford, Social Studies Teacher and President of Jefferson County Education Association
- Amanda Crosby, Littleton Educator and President of Littleton Education Association

2:30 p.m. Safe2Tell

- Essi Ellis, Director, Safe2Tell Program, Department of Law
- Matt Baca, Director, Department of Law Office of Community Engagement
- Kevin Klein, Director of the Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Management, Department of Public Safety
- Stacy Gahagen, Director of Security and Emergency Management, St. Vrain Valley School District

3:15 p.m. Parents, Students, and Teachers Panels

• Presenters to be announced

4:00 p.m. Closing Comments

4:30 pm. Adjourn