NOTE: This bill has been prepared for the signatures of the appropriate legislative officers and the Governor. To determine whether the Governor has signed the bill or taken other action on it, please consult the legislative status sheet, the legislative history, or the Session Laws.



SENATE BILL 24-138

BY SENATOR(S) Simpson, Exum, Pelton R., Priola, Will, Winter F.; also REPRESENTATIVE(S) Martinez and Catlin, Clifford, Duran, Mauro, Snyder.

CONCERNING THE MODIFICATION OF THE SALARY CATEGORIZATION OF LOCALLY ELECTED OFFICERS IN SPECIFIED COUNTIES.

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the State of Colorado:

**SECTION 1.** In Colorado Revised Statutes, 30-2-102, **amend** (1.5)(a)(II)(B), (1.5)(a)(III)(A), (1.5)(a)(III)(C), (1.5)(a)(IV)(A), (1.5)(a)(IV)(C), (1.5)(a)(V)(A), and (1.5)(a)(V)(B); and **repeal** (1.5)(a)(II)(C) as follows:

- **30-2-102.** Categorization of counties for fixing salaries of county officers salary amounts legislative declaration. (1.5) (a) For the purpose of establishing the salaries of county officers whose terms of office begin on or after January 1, 2016:
- (II) (B) Category II-B counties consist of the <del>county</del> COUNTIES of FREMONT AND Pitkin.

Capital letters or bold & italic numbers indicate new material added to existing law; dashes through words or numbers indicate deletions from existing law and such material is not part of the act.

- (C) Category II-C counties consist of the county of Fremont.
- (III) (A) Category III-A counties consist of the counties of Archuleta, Chaffee, Clear Creek, Delta, ELBERT, Gunnison, Moffat, Montezuma, Montrose, Morgan, Ouray, Park, Rio Blanco, San Miguel, and Teller;
- (C) Category III-C counties consist of the counties of Las Animas, RIO GRANDE, and Otero;
- (IV) (A) Category IV-A counties consist of the counties of Custer, Elbert, and Prowers;
- (C) Category IV-C counties consist of the counties of Huerfano Rio Grande, and Yuma;
- (V) (A) Category V-A counties consist of the counties of Baca, Conejos, Costilla, HINSDALE, Lincoln, Mineral, Phillips, Saguache, and San Juan;
- (B) Category V-B counties consist of the <del>counties</del> COUNTY of Crowley; <del>and Hinsdale</del>
- **SECTION 2.** Act subject to petition effective date. This act takes effect at 12:01 a.m. on the day following the expiration of the ninety-day period after final adjournment of the general assembly; except that, if a referendum petition is filed pursuant to section 1 (3) of article V of the state constitution against this act or an item, section, or part of this act within such period, then the act, item, section, or part will not take effect unless approved by the people at the general election to be held in

November 2024 and, in such ca declaration of the vote thereon	ase, will take effect on the date of the official
declaration of the vote thereon	by the governor.
Steve Fenberg PRESIDENT OF	Julie McCluskie SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE
THE SENATE	OF REPRESENTATIVES
Cindi L. Markwell SECRETARY OF THE SENATE	Robin Jones  CHIEF CLERK OF THE HOUSE  OF REPRESENTATIVES
APPROVED	OI REFRESENTATIVES
	(Date and Time)
Jared S. Poli GOVERNO	is R OF THE STATE OF COLORADO