

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION 16-1006

BY REPRESENTATIVE(S) Ryden and Thurlow, Buckner, Danielson, Fields, Foote, Garnett, Ginal, Humphrey, Kraft-Tharp, Lee, Lontine, McCann, Melton, Moreno, Primavera, Roupe, Wist, Arndt, Becker J., Becker K., Brown, Buck, Carver, Conti, Coram, Court, DelGrosso, Dore, Duran, Esgar, Everett, Hamner, Joshi, Kagan, Klingenschmitt, Landgraf, Lawrence, Lebsock, Leonard, Lundeen, Mitsch Bush, Navarro, Neville P., Nordberg, Pabon, Pettersen, Rankin, Ransom, Rosenthal, Saine, Salazar, Sias, Singer, Tyler, Van Winkle, Vigil, Willett, Williams, Wilson, Windholz, Winter, Young, Hullinghorst;

also SENATOR(S) Todd and Martinez Humenik, Scott, Aguilar, Baumgardner, Carroll, Cooke, Crowder, Donovan, Garcia, Grantham, Guzman, Heath, Hill, Holbert, Jahn, Johnston, Jones, Kefalas, Kerr, Lambert, Lundberg, Marble, Merrifield, Neville T., Newell, Roberts, Scheffel, Sonnenberg, Steadman, Tate, Ulibarri, Cadman.

CONCERNING THE DESIGNATION OF A PORTION OF EAST SIXTH AVENUE IN AURORA AS THE "COLORADO FREEDOM MEMORIAL HIGHWAY".

WHEREAS, Eighty-eight Colorado soldiers are buried at Normandy Beach, France, and thousands of others were laid to rest in distant cemeteries or their remains were never recovered in wars on foreign soil; and

WHEREAS, In May 2000, a group of veterans, historians, and citizens assembled by Rick Crandall and Pat Smith, State Adjutant of the Colorado American Legion, began a series of meetings at the Legion's state headquarters to begin discussing the parameters for which individuals would be included on a memorial dedicated to all Colorado veterans killed in action; and

WHEREAS, The group concluded that such a memorial would honor veterans who were killed in action or from wounds received in combat action and who had listed Colorado as their home of record upon entering service and would date back to the Spanish American War, so as to include all wars since Colorado attained statehood; and

WHEREAS, The very first task accomplished by this group was creating the name of the memorial--Pat Smith simply stated, "It should be called the Colorado Freedom Memorial"; and

WHEREAS, Rick Crandall met with an architectural designer, then-25-year-old Kristoffer Kenton, who began the design process of the Colorado Freedom Memorial; in April 2001, Kenton finished the design of what would be one of the most unique and beautiful military memorials in America; and

WHEREAS, In January 2003, the Aurora City Council gave unanimous approval to move forward with creating an agreement between the city and the Colorado Freedom Memorial Foundation for the location of the memorial at Telluride Street and Sixth Avenue, near Buckley Air Force Base in Aurora; and

WHEREAS, A partnership was created between the Colorado Freedom Memorial Foundation and the Aurora Parks, Recreation, and Open Space Department; the partnership continues to this day under the leadership of Diane Crandall, who manages the events and day-to-day operation of the Colorado Freedom Memorial; and

WHEREAS, The nonprofit Colorado Freedom Memorial Foundation received its 501(c)3 designation from the IRS in June 2001 and began a fundraising campaign that continued for the next eleven years; the first \$100 was raised during a Women Marines Association Area 7 Conference at Paula Sarlls' home, attended by Aurora mayor Paul Tauer; Rick Crandall; and Colorado Women's Hall of Fame member Lieutenant General Carol Mutter; and

- WHEREAS, During a live radio-thon on KEZW 1430 AM in May 2012, an anonymous donor contributed \$345,000, which provided enough money to begin construction of the Colorado Freedom Memorial; and
- WHEREAS, A groundbreaking ceremony for the Colorado Freedom Memorial was held on February 2, 2013, a beautiful, sunny Colorado winter morning; and
- WHEREAS, In May 2013, the Colorado Freedom Memorial was dedicated, with several thousand people in attendance; and
- WHEREAS, Since then, thousands of Coloradans and visitors from other states and nations have visited the Colorado Freedom Memorial to locate the names of their lost warriors and to reflect on their memories of their loved ones; and
- WHEREAS, The Colorado Freedom Memorial has become a gathering place for annual Memorial Day and Veterans Day commemorations and other statewide veterans events; and
- WHEREAS, The avenue that brings visitors to the Colorado Freedom Memorial is a State Highway and is eligible to be named in honor of our war veterans; now, therefore,
- Be It Resolved by the House of Representatives of the Seventieth General Assembly of the State of Colorado, the Senate concurring herein:
- (1) That the portion of East Sixth Avenue from the I-225 interchange to the E-470 interchange shall be renamed the "Colorado Freedom Memorial Highway";
- (2) That the Colorado Department of Transportation may accept and expend gifts, grants, and donations for the purpose of the initial placement of the two signs to mark East Sixth Avenue from the I-225 interchange to the E-470 interchange as the "Colorado Freedom Memorial Highway"; and

(3) That the Colorado Department of Transportation may explore a cooperative agreement with the Board of County Commissioners of Arapahoe County and the city of Aurora for the maintenance of the markings for the Colorado Freedom Memorial Highway.

Be It Further Resolved, That copies of this Joint Resolution be sent to Governor John Hickenlooper; Colonel John Wagner, Commander, Buckley Air Force Base; Major General H. Michael Edwards, Adjutant General of Colorado; Steve Hogan, Mayor of Aurora; the Aurora City Council; the Board of County Commissioners of Arapahoe County; Pat Smith, Adjutant of American Legion Department of Colorado; former Aurora mayor Paul Tauer; Rick and Diane Crandall; Paula Sarlls, President, Women Marines Association Colorado Columbine - WM History Chapter; Lieutenant General Carol Mutter; the Veterans of Foreign Wars Department of Colorado; the Wings Over the Rockies Air and Space Museum; the Aurora History Museum; the History Colorado Center; and Colorado's Congressional delegation.

Dickey Lee Hullinghorst
SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE
OF REPRESENTATIVES

Bill L. Cadman PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE

Marilyn Eddins
CHIEF CLERK OF THE HOUSE
OF REPRESENTATIVES

Effie Ameen SECRETARY OF THE SENATE