

## SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 17-012

BY SENATOR(S) Holbert and Smallwood, Aguilar, Baumgardner, Cooke, Coram, Court, Crowder, Donovan, Fenberg, Fields, Garcia, Gardner, Guzman, Hill, Jahn, Kagan, Kefalas, Kerr, Lambert, Lundberg, Marble, Martinez Humenik, Merrifield, Moreno, Neville T., Priola, Scott, Sonnenberg, Tate, Todd, Williams A., Zenzinger, Grantham;

also REPRESENTATIVE(S) Ransom and Buckner, Arndt, Becker J., Becker K., Beckman, Benavidez, Bridges, Buck, Carver, Catlin, Coleman, Covarrubias, Danielson, Esgar, Everett, Exum, Foote, Garnett, Ginal, Gray, Hamner, Hansen, Herod, Hooton, Humphrey, Jackson, Kennedy, Kraft-Tharp, Landgraf, Lawrence, Lebsock, Lee, Leonard, Lewis, Liston, Lontine, Lundeen, McKean, McLachlan, Melton, Michaelson Jenet, Mitsch Bush, Navarro, Neville P., Nordberg, Pabon, Pettersen, Rankin, Rosenthal, Saine, Salazar, Sias, Singer, Thurlow, Valdez, Van Winkle, Weissman, Willett, Williams D., Wilson, Winter, Wist, Young, Duran.

CONCERNING RECOGNIZING THE ACHIEVEMENTS OF ROCKY VISTA UNIVERSITY.

WHEREAS, Rocky Vista University was established in 2006 as the nation's first private, for-profit health sciences university to offer a professional medical degree since 1910; and

WHEREAS, Housed in a 145,000-square-foot, technologically advanced building in Parker, the University selected Colorado as its home due to the large number of counties designated as medically underserved areas and the fact that Colorado had, at the time, only one medical school to serve the state; and

WHEREAS, The University contributes an estimated \$75 million to the economic development of the Town of Parker, Douglas County, and the State of Colorado, without relying on state funding; and

WHEREAS, The University's admissions process includes selecting

candidates who demonstrate leadership and a strong commitment to service, and its medical students continue to serve local, national, and global populations; and

WHEREAS, A total of 727 student doctors have graduated since the Inaugural Class of 2012; and

WHEREAS, The University's College of Osteopathic Medicine has distinguished itself in academic excellence, with board scores ranked at the top of all osteopathic medical schools and 100% residency placement rates; and

WHEREAS, Osteopathic medicine was chosen as the University's first program because of the osteopathic emphasis on primary care and its mind-body-spirit approach to medicine; and

WHEREAS, The College boasts one of the highest percentage of medical students on military scholarship of any civilian medical school and is designated a Top 10-Gold Level Military Friendly School; and

WHEREAS, Demonstrating its commitment to primary care, the College developed an honors track in Rural and Wilderness Medicine, with nearly half of the graduates entering a primary care field; and

WHEREAS, The College provides training, called Active Threat Exercises, for metro area EMT-BASIC, Paramedics, and law enforcement; and

WHEREAS, As the host of the annual Medical Academy of Science and Health (MASH) Camp, the College provides high school students with a glimpse into the world of health care; and

WHEREAS, Based on the successes of the University and its commitment to serving underserved populations in the Mountain West Region, Rocky Vista has established a second location in the neighboring state of Utah; and

WHEREAS, The Rocky Vista Health Center opens its doors to all patients regardless of their ability to pay for services; now, therefore,

Be It Resolved by the Senate of the Seventy-first General Assembly of the State of Colorado, the House of Representatives concurring herein:

That the Colorado General Assembly congratulates Rocky Vista University on more than 10 years of service and education in the State of Colorado and recognizes the notable growth, achievements, and contributions of the University and its graduates.

Be It Further Resolved, That copies of this Joint Resolution be sent to Mr. Yife Tien, founder of Rocky Vista University; the Rocky Vista University Board of Trustees; and the Colorado and Utah Congressional delegations.

Kevin J. Grantham PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE Crisanta Duran SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

Effie Ameen SECRETARY OF

THE SENATE

Marilyn Eddins

CHIEF CLERK OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES