Skip to main content
Colorado General AssemblyToggle Main Menu
Agency NameToggle Agency Menu

81CCD5E011465913872587FE0070EAEE Hearing Summary


Date Mar 7, 2022      
Location HCR 0107

SB22-042 - Referred to the Committee of the Whole

01:33:23 PM  
Majority Leader Esgar, bill co-prime sponsor, introduced SB22-042. Senate Bill 22-013, signed into law on February 25, 2022, increased the size of the Board of Commissioners of the State Fair Authority from eleven to thirteen members, including the Commissioner of Agriculture or the Commissioner’s designee, two residents from the county where the state fair is held (Pueblo County), one resident from each of the eight congressional districts, and two residents from the state at large. SB22-013 added an at-large member and a member from the new eighth congressional district. Instead of members from each of the eight congressional districts, this bill requires two members from each of the four agricultural districts in the state.

On October 31, 2022, the Governor must appoint two members from the state at large. When a current member’s term expires or a vacancy otherwise occurs, the Governor must appoint members according to the requirements included in the bill. The bill also sets requirements for members regarding occupation, agricultural experience, residency, and political party affiliation. The requirements included in this bill supersede the requirements in SB22-013.

01:34:47 PM  
Representative Will, bill co-prime sponsor, gave opening comments on the bill.
01:36:11 PM  
Bill sponsors responded to questions from committee members.
01:37:43 PM  
Megan Waples, Office of Legislative Legal Services, answered questions from the committee.
01:43:13 PM  
Committee members continued to ask questions of the bill sponsors.
01:43:29 PM  
Majority Leader Esgar and Representative Will gave final comments on the bill.
01:44:32 PM  
Committee members made final comments on the bill.

01:47:51 PM
Motion Refer Senate Bill 22-042 to the Committee of the Whole.
Moved Will
Seconded Catlin
Holtorf Yes
Lindsay Yes
Lontine Excused
McLachlan Yes
Pelton Yes
Roberts Yes
Titone Yes
Valdez D. Yes
Will Yes
Catlin Yes
McCormick Yes
Final YES: 10   NO: 0   EXC: 1   ABS:  0   FINAL ACTION:  PASS

The effective date for bills enacted without a safety clause is August 7, 2024, if the General Assembly adjourns sine die on May 8, 2024, unless otherwise specified. Details